September’s Bookshelf

Use

A speedy round up and review of what I read in the month of September…

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

I’d been looking forward to reading this from the moment I heard that it was being released – it came out the day I graduated and my dad picked me up a copy as a graduation present. I didn’t actually get around to reading it until the very end of the summer though. To me the whole book hinges on its links to To Kill a Mockingbird, and I’m not sure how much I would have enjoyed reading it if I hadn’t loved Lee’s first novel. I got a wonderful sense of nostalgia reading it and reuniting with old characters, especially in a number of chapters where Scout reflects back on her childhood. However, looking at the book as an isolated novel I wouldn’t say that it was all together ground breaking. A nice read if you want to catch another perspective of your GCSE English days, but if you didn’t love To Kill a Mockingbird I don’t think I’d recommend it.

Sister by Rosamund Lupton

Another book that I have been intending to read for ages! I think my mum recommended this book to me about a year ago now (oops!), but as she expected I loved this! I found it took the usual 50 pages or so to start getting really interested and then I was hooked. I keep using the word ‘haunting’ to describe this book to friends I am trying to force this on recommending this to, and even though it sounds very melodramatic it is so true! I can’t quite put my finger on why but I just couldn’t sleep the night I finished this. If you like a thriller with a dark edge, I would highly recommend this!

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

There has been so much hype surrounding this book, and I was put off at first as everyone was comparing it to Gone Girl which I didn’t really enjoy as much as everyone else I knew. But I gave this one a ago and admittedly I struggled with it at first. About 100 pages in I spoke to a friend who had read it who told me that she had also found it hard to read, but the final part of the book is actually really good. So I kept going and have to say that the final 100 pages are probably worth persevering for! It’s another thriller, told from the viewpoint of three different women. I found Rachel’s character quite draining to begin with, but slowly warmed to her! Again, if you like thrillers I would definitely suggest giving this one ago, but I personally preferred Sister to this one.

Hopefully next month won’t be so thriller based – not sure my head can handle so many conspiracies. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

